8 Comments
Sep 14, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

All the above plus a full tank of gas (to leave or charge my phone) a small generator, prescription s filled, and a charged battery run floor fan (it’s Texas…need I say more?)

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Southern Oregon means fire season so yes. All our bags packed and ready along with our pet supplies and meds and vital docs.

Expand full comment
Sep 14, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

A native of Southern California, I only got an earthquake kit about 4 or 5 years ago (and insurance about 10). I have a Life Straw that will make like 100 gallons of water (after the '94, we didn't have potable water for ages; every aftershock -- and there were *many* -- knocked out a water main or a new repair). I have cash, paper towels, TP and a few canned goods. Mostly, all I care about is water. LOL. After our last power outage, I'm reminded I need a flashlight. Still need to order that. xo

Expand full comment

I live in Florida so yes to all of the above. We're far enough inland to avoid a storm surge and have a Generac that runs the whole house and the well. We have horses so no water is a non option. But also a full tank of gas, cash in hand, and as many bags of ice as will fit in the freezer. I guess instead of a "go bag" we have more of a doomsday bunker situation, lol

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I live in an large urban area and can get to pretty much any amenity I need on foot, including one of the Great Lakes if worst came to worst. I admit to being being woefully unprepared by prepper standards. I have a ready stash of batteries, propane in the bbq, a lifestraw, lots of blankets, and an unlimited data plan. That’s about it.

Expand full comment
author

One more reco for LifeStraw, thank you!

Expand full comment
Sep 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

Power went out for 6 hrs 2x here in Southern AZ during 100+ temperatures this summer due to extremely strong summer monsoon winds and hail. When my phone died and I was alone in the dark heat, I resolved to be better prepared. Just bought a hand-crank solar radio that also acts as a charger.

Expand full comment