6 Comments
Mar 8, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I am horribly nearsighted (-8.0) and have worn contacts since I was 14. I wear 1.0 readers over the contacts for phone/print and special-ordered a pair of 0.75 readers for the computer I work at all day. It’s SO IRRITATING to need so many different glasses, but it works out ok.

Expand full comment
Mar 8, 2023·edited Mar 8, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I do distance contacts, and wear readers for reading/scrolling my phone and computer work. I have dozens of pairs placed strategically throughout my place. Considering going back to a lower strength distance contact prescription so I don't need to wear my readers so much.

I have tried contacts that are supposed to correct both distance and close up but I didn't really like them. I've resisted trying progressives because I was told you need to wear them a fair amount of time to get used to them; however wearing glasses a lot does not fit with my lifestyle.

Expand full comment
Mar 7, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I'm really interested to hear from folks who have had Lasik to correct one or both issues. Got into a convo recently with someone who raved about it, but he only had distance contacts before the procedure.

Expand full comment
author

I can't do contacts (stupid dry eyes, dumbass protein build up) and progressives trigger my migraines so I'm also taking off my glasses/prescription sunglasses to read stuff. Another question for me would be: does anyone have any recommendations for lighter than air contacts for super dry eyes?

Expand full comment
author
Mar 7, 2023·edited Mar 7, 2023Author

I'm nearsighted and gave up on contacts a few years ago and have been semi happy with progressives — both in regular and sunglass style. I still tend to take off my glasses to read my iphone. BUT I just started working out again with fervor - and with a trainer - and am realizing glasses are a sweaty/foggy/ annoying thing so I might break out the contacts again for that. I realize this was not a particularly helpful answer. 😂 I wish you the best of luck Laura and hope other commenters can help out - or at least, like me, commiserate.

Expand full comment