39 Comments
Jan 26, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

When I was very little the abominable snowman in the Rudolph claymation Xmas movies scared me to running and hiding .

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I had Aliens nightmares every night from 10 to 16. Fun! Also the Gmork in Neverending Story 🙈

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Omg I had forgotten about Poseidon Adventure - I was 8 years old and traumatized! Wizard of Oz was terrifying - the witch and those monkeys. I remember being very upset by Grizzly Adams, but no memory of the film at all. I've repressed something!

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Every year when The Wizard of Oz was on I would have to leave the room when the trees were mean to Dorothy. They really mocked her and then threw apples at her! Also, once on vacation with our kids, the original Willy Wonka came on and there was a psychedelic scene of boats flying in the air. My kids were like this is weird and we agreed.

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I idly turned on the TV after school in around 1977 and the movie The Fly was on, and it got me so scared that I ashamedly turned it off. Later I went to the Jeff Goldblum version by myself at a local theater and it was so nightmarish that you still couldn't pay me to re-watch it.

When I was eight or so, the opening credits of Star Trek reruns, when the Enterprise "comes at you," I couldn't look at that.

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

The snake in Rikki Tikki Tavi; the monkeys in The Wizard of Oz; Arnold’s burning down in Happy Days; Snoopy going back to the Daisy Hill Puppy Farm; and, generally, Hee Haw.

Expand full comment
author

Lady Elaine Fairchild on Mister Rogers scared the shit out of me. Also the “I eat children” child catcher guy on Chitty Chitty Bang Bang. The witch on HR Puffenstuff. What were we watching?!?

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

The Last Unicorn is, I believe, singlehandedly responsible for my lifelong depression. What a dark, sad movie that is. Also the bloody bunnies of Watership Down and the animal testing scenes in the Secret of Nimh were all nightmare fuel for me.

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Sleestacks from Land of the Lost. All the way!

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Dr. Who. OMG. The old ones with Tom Baker as the Doctor.

It happened to come on TV as soon as I got off the bus and to this day I can barely watch that show.

But the theme song? Hell yeah!

Expand full comment

I'm so glad others mentioned the Wizard of Oz. I had to leave the room for half that movie, felt like. Also parts of the original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Expand full comment

I'm so glad others mentioned the Wizard of Oz. I had to leave the room for half that movie, felt like. Also parts of the original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Expand full comment
Jan 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I'm so glad others mentioned the Wizard of Oz. I had to leave the room for half that movie, felt like. Also parts of the original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Expand full comment
Jan 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I'm so glad others mentioned the Wizard of Oz. I had to leave the room for half that movie, felt like. Also parts of the original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

Expand full comment
Jan 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Yes to the older people taking tiny us to see legitimately scary shit! A baby sitter took me to see Gremlins and the bubbling microwaved scene, so gross, so horrifying, but bc of Gizmo, Gremlins was marketed directly at kids... My much older brother "let me" watch Poltergeist and dude pulling off his face at the sink is never leaving my scarred brain.

Expand full comment
Jan 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I still find the vampires in Omega Man so creepy and scary. I was a big horror movie fan even as a very young kid but that movie stuck.

Expand full comment
Feb 15, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Late to the conversation... but how about those 1970's Disney movies? Child of Glass (1978)? Watcher in the Woods (1980)? TERRIFYING. Shown as part of their 'family friendly' Sunday night movie series. Nope nope nope.

Expand full comment

The super freaky, evil wolf from “Never Ending Story”!

Expand full comment