12 Comments
Mar 16, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Campbell’s SpaghettiOs with Franks. Basically canned spaghetti with cut up hot dogs. A plate of pure sodium and carbs. Anyone?

Expand full comment

Honestly, every type of junk or fast food tasted better then. Maybe because it was just processed, vs ultra-processed? Or maybe because it wasn't something you got that often? LIke I remember my dance teacher handing out fun-sized Snickers once a month. It was something you only got on Halloween if you were lucky. Some homes handed out a nickel, one tiny Tootsie Roll. or a piece of Brach's hard candy.

I never was a McDonald's fan, even though I grew up in Des Plaines near the original location. I remember when, like in '83, they moved a few blocks to build one with a drive-thru, which was an amazing concept. But we mostly went there for ice cream cones in the summer. For food, I preferred Arthur Treacher's Fish & Chips, or Brown's Chicken — because I really thought theirs tasted better, and I loved my bright, yellow T-shirt that said it.

Expand full comment

Isn't it funny the prohibition against ketchup on hot dogs... that's the "law" in Chicago also for some reason.

I lived on peanut butter and honey sandwiches on Upside Down brand bread as a child. Pringles were a treat.

Expand full comment
Mar 16, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Nothing better than a YooHoo.

My mom would pick me up from CCD class (fellow Catholics, you feel my pain) and my treat was a bottle. No wonder I was a chubster at that age.

Expand full comment
Mar 17, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Philly girl here. Tastycakes and Yoohoo in the AM. Breakfast of Champions!

Expand full comment
Mar 17, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Smurfberry Crunch!

Expand full comment