25 Comments
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

I admired her style, in that she defied the pressure to be sexually objectified. I admired her clarity in calling out wrongs. I'm so sad! I wrote here about why her androgynous look seemed to speak to me. Thanks, Margit, for letting me post this: https://franmasonwriting.com/the-courage-of-sinead-oconnor/

Expand full comment

Lion and the Cobra has been the first album I name in my list of “desert island” discs since I first heard it in 1987. Her power was obvious to us the moment she yelled “YOU’RE ALL WRONG,” halfway through the otherwise whisperingly haunting first song. Sinéad O’Conner was a few steps ahead of us our whole lives - we rarely understood what motivated her to step out of line over and over. But eventually we caught up and realized she was right about everything all along. By the time we hit our 30s, we went our separate ways, us to try to figure out how the world worked, her to keep trying to show the world how wrong it was. In our 50s we ran into each other again. Just as she was ready to tell us her story. Just as we were ready to hear it. And I’ve been listening to her sing truth to power ever since. Damn Sinéad O’Conner. You were the lion we needed when we needed you. Rest in peace forever. Thank you.

Expand full comment

Every time I play Three Babies I cry....

And of course I'm like a wild horse

But there's no other way I could be

Water and feed are not tools that I need

For the thing that I've chosen to be

Expand full comment
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

We wanted to be her so badly.

Expand full comment
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

Really, nothing compares to you Sinead. Rest in peace 🖤

Expand full comment
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

There are so many vocalists I emulated when I was trying to find my singing voice. Blondie, Donna Summer, Ann Wilson, Joni Mitchell, Carol King, Pat Benatar, who I saw last night, Aretha Franklin, Janis Joplin, Annie Lennox, Cyndi Lauper, Alison Moyet. And then came Sinead. Sinead's voice shook me awake. She rattled my rib cage. She went from a literal whisper to a scream. I wanted to sing like THAT! HOW DID SHE SING LIKE THAT?!

Expand full comment
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

This is so incredibly sad. I'll always remember her on the stage at the Tower Theatre on the I Do Not Have What I Haven't Got tour -- with Andy Rourke (RIP) on bass -- smiling, blushing, at bashful at the crowd's ecstatic enthusiasm for her talent. She seemed so happy in that moment.

Expand full comment
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

Margit, this is such a perfectly stated tribute and you really captured a moment in time for me. You are a gorgeous writer. RIP Sinéad O'Connor.

Expand full comment
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

I bought Lion and the Cobra in 87 and it was everything to my teenage self for several years. Her cover of Someday My Prince Will Come on Stay Awake is chilling and gorgeous

Expand full comment
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Sinéad O'Connor's voice entered my life in 1990 when I was 15. The year I ran away and ended up in a psychiatric hospital. I left with more trauma and no help, but Sinéad's words helped me trust myself at a time when you sort of had to separate from your body just to get by. She was a lone voice I heard saying: the things you’re feeling are wrong, ARE wrong. She paid huge costs over and over just from saying out loud what everyone knew. I can’t even imagine what it was like for her. Ever grateful. She’ll be ever missed.

My favorite from that year — “The Emperor's New Clothes”: “Everyone can see what's going on / They laugh 'cause they know they're untouchable / Not because what I said was wrong.”

Expand full comment

I listened to the album, I Do Not Want What I Haven't Got, on my way to work today. Her voice was like no other, so raw, so emotional. I cry every time I listen to her sing. When she tore up the picture of John Paul II on SNL, I thought - here is someone standing up and standing in her power to bring light to what the world refuses to see. I was in awe of her strength and vulnerability.

Expand full comment

The news yesterday hit me like a wall. It's too wrong in too many ways. She deserved her peace while she roamed this earth. I truly hope she has it now. She was right all along. She knew it. We knew it. Rest peacefully, Sinead. xo

Expand full comment
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

Oh, this has absolutely gutted me. Everything about Sinéad O'Connor was incandescently defiant, extraordinarily beautiful, unique and complex and vibrant. All through the 90s, her music was like a beacon for me, a mix of softness, compassion, intensity, outrage, that reflected my feelings back to me in ways I didn't entirely understand then. I *did* understand that liking her was, where I lived, uncool at best -- everything from her shaved hear to her infamous SNL appearance cemented her as a figure who was "disrespectful" and outrageous and unfeminine, the worst things for a young woman to be. But I loved every album she put out, and I aspired to be like her, even though I felt vaguely ashamed of both of those things. It took me years and years to become even an ounce as bold and brave as she had always been.

I will be receiving and cherishing the gifts she gave, with her music and her words and her life, for the rest of my own life. This life and this world were so hard and unfair to her, and she herself could be difficult, confusing, unkind. But to me, she is a voice of astonishing revelation, in everything she did.

Her pain is over, now. I wish for peace and strength for her loved ones. I hope I can help make this world, parts of it at least, worthy of her in a way it seldom was during her life.

Expand full comment
Jul 27, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

As a young, and recently out lesbian, I remember hearing her music and thinking how she so perfectly encapsulated the rage I felt. My first creative job ate me alive, people were dying all around me and there was so little I could do to change a single god-damned thing. Soon my peers were shaving their heads, buying docs, and venting the rage they felt. Between Sinéad and Ani we had our voices and we started to do things, to make change. I am so grateful to these women who gave us strength and made us powerful, when no one cared about us. There are so few generational transcendent voices, she was one of ours. RIP warrior queen. Your job is truly done.

Expand full comment
Jul 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

Sinéad’s death hit HARD. I didn’t cry for Prince, David Bowie or Eddie Van Halen, but I shed tears listening to Sinéad’s music yesterday. From the moment I first played The Lion and the Cobra in college I was hooked. Such power, pain and rage in her voice! She was a unique and mesmerizing new artist. She spoke to my soul. She was a misfit at a time when I felt like one. I remember when a boyfriend broke up with me listening to The Last Day of Our Acquaintance on repeat. She was so brave in ways I didn’t understand at the time. She was misunderstood by the media and the music industry, who didn’t know how to package/market her. She was proven right about the church, and we owe her a massive apology. I am grateful I was able to see her twice in concert. I hope she now has found the peace that eluded her in life. RIP Sinéad.

Expand full comment
Jul 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

Nothing to add, as there are no words for the grief of losing someone who was my companion through late high school and then uni. I hope she is at peace. She was too good for us, in so many ways.

Expand full comment