35 Comments
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I listen to a lot! Some of my faves are The Daily (NY Times), 10 Percent Happier, Were You Raised By Wolves?, and Everything Is Fine. Also If Books Could Kill and Maintenance Phase. For health, Everyday Wellness (Cynthia Thurlow) and Muscle Science for Women. Loved the series I Was Never There and All There Is.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I listen to a lot: What A Day, Up First, What To Watch, Keep It, Vibe Check, Podcrushed, ICYMI, Hit Parade, One Song, Pop Pantheon, Who Weekly, Cherry Bombe

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I still love This American Life! Am I aging myself?! Possibly! One in every 5 eps leaves me weeping in my car (which is the exact podcast vibe I am going for). 😀

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I love Everything Happens with Kate Bowler, Smartless always makes me laugh, Hidden Brain makes me think. Well Beyond 40 makes me healthier and yet a little neurotic. And finally, Over My Dead Body was a true crime binge that was great but left me a little sad- so I feel better by listening to The Splendid Table. Podcasts keep me walking a little more when they are good!

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I’m very picky - I like a podcast where this isn’t too much banter or what did you do this weekend because…. Who cares? I’m just here for the actual content! So, that said, I love You’re Wrong About and Maintenance Phase because the hosts are great and the topics are varied and interesting! Watch What Crappens makes me crack up (if you’re a bravo junkie like me you’d get it) and Atlas Obscura does great shorter segments about strange and unusual places.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Hysteria (hosted by Erin Ryan and Alyssa Mastromonaco) is an excellent feminist take on politics and other topics.

Bad Dates (hosted by Jameela Jamil) is currently making me guffaw out loud as I walk down the street, officially turning me into That Crazy Lady.

Choice Words with Samantha Bee is another new favorite.

And since you're all presumably fans of Margit Detweiler, you should listen to episode 45 of my show, "Circling the Drain: A Perimenopausal Podcast About the Period Before You Stop Getting Your Period", where we had a blast interviewing her! Shameless plug but potentially a super-informative pod for those of you wondering WTF is happening to your midlife body.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I love podcasts, my own is Book Talk, etc where we share tons of book recommendations and also things we're loving lately. Others I love - WE Can Do Hard Things with Glenn Doyle, The Mel Robbins Podcast, The One You Feed, Novel Pairings

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I love Hidden Brain and Wiser Than Me with Julia Louis Dreyfuss

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Everything Is Fine and Savage Love are the podcasts I listen to as soon as a new episode is released. I dabble in many more, but I’m fanatical about those two and never miss an episode.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Everything is Fine, Maintenance Phase, The Rewatchables, Every Outfit (on SATC), Shortcomings (SATC deep dives, hilarious and BRILLIANT).

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

BBC 4's Uncanny, including Witch Farm, The Battersea Poltergeist, and the regular weekly Uncanny episodes. Also, Witch, on BBC podcasts-- fascinating history of how witches appear in our cultural history and present.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023·edited Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Oooooh.. I'm SO going to listen to Dark House! I love too many to list here, but lately:

The Shift with Sam Baker for the confused midlife person that I am :)

https://open.spotify.com/show/59aYxJoRk0yljoqoJTr1nO?si=3b4810e7a97a44a3

Kurt Vonnegut Radio for the literary nerd in me (George Saunders 2 is my fave episode)

https://open.spotify.com/show/7kl9phmzPpFOClh0aD2ahW?si=8eb0ac738aa845de

Katherine May - How We Live Now for a person who very much needs re-enchantment in life

https://open.spotify.com/show/1N8dGvcLFOjNoVddgrpvA9?si=2b0f35e792b84fe3

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Another vote for for Everything Is Fine. :)

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

So many, so little time. Every Monday I tune my IPhone Pocket Casts dial to, Everything is Fine, with Kim France and Jen Romolini. It is smart, funny, entertaining and always interesting. They tell it like it is. No filters. Never disappoints. Another winner is the Julia Louise-Dreyfus interview show, Wiser Than Me.

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Everything is Fine

Witch

Scamanda

Normal Gossip

Something was Wrong

Terrible, Thanks for Asking

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Thanks, Liz! I’ll have to check it out!

Expand full comment
Sep 28, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Just adding some that have not yet been mentioned: Sound Opinions, Articles of Interest, Search Engine, Hard Fork, 99% Invisible, What Roman Mars Can Learn About Con Law, Land of the Giants.

Expand full comment
author

I wish I had more time to listen, and I am very sporadic listener but my faves have been: You Must Remember This, Las Culturistas, Pop Culture Happy Hour for pop culture; Maintenance Phase as so many have mentioned. I need more story/ reporting podcasts a la Serial or Nice White Parents which was so fantastic. I just started The Retrievals which is really good. Any other reccos like that?

Expand full comment
author

Oh also, Bandsplain! Which is hit or miss for me (I'm not usually a fan of people just chatting with each other unless they're REALLY funny or smart) but when it hits it's great. The Clash was a good episode. https://www.theringer.com/bandsplain-podcast

Expand full comment