8 Comments
author

I can't with the "I'll do a..." as in the example "I'll do a dirty chai." Instead of "I'd like a", or "I'll have a." It sounds like you're going to get all nasty with that latte.

Counterintuitively, I am also sort of opposed to "May I please have a" - which sounds so very Oliver Twist. It's like, here's my money, give me my damn espresso drink.

Yes, I am the asshole :-)

Expand full comment
Oct 19, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

I looked it up and, thank God, the preferred spelling is "bougie." I was about to lose my shiz since it comes from the word "bourgeoisie." So if we're going to jack it up, let's at least keep some of its former glory LOL. #wordnerd

Expand full comment
Oct 19, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

I like to use "not the" as a way to add emphasis to someone's audacity (I like 'audacity', too). As in "not that man pretending to ask a question as a way to cut the line".

Expand full comment

I was saving this one for "That's Marvelous" but it's too wonderful... new slang and words made popular by online culture, like "edgelord" noun, slang : someone who makes wildly dark and exaggerated statements (as on an internet forum) with the intent of shocking others. She's an Edgelord... that gotham girl! 😂

Expand full comment
Oct 19, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

Quiet quitting is such a polite, almost demure way of describing a behavior that is both a sport and an art.

Expand full comment

I've written about these newfangled words which morph every day into a new version of the day old version. I am ashamed what my once voluminous vocabulary is reduced to these non word words. I die a thousand deaths when someone say "irregardless.,"

Expand full comment

Love bougie--my new fave. Utterly DETEST "LOL" and think people who use it ought to be charged with a capital crime. Seriously.

Expand full comment