28 Comments
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

1) transformative 2) productive 3) delusional

I just moved my jewelry studio to a new spot and finally got it all set up and started making new pieces. I’m a bit freaked out because I have a lot of shows planned for the fall and need to get a lot done. So what do I do? I book an overnight trip to Puerto Rico in September because my friend is a flight attendant and I can take her flight and stay in her hotel. At least I’m never bored….

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

Surprising. Hopeful. Uncertain.

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Tiresome. Silly. Stratified.

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Uncomfortable. Sleepy, Boring.

I'm recovering from back surgery, so I'm shifting around on beds, chairs and couches trying to get comfortable. Meds were making me sleepy all day, so I weaned myself off within a week. I love my email newsletters, I'm trying to reengage with reading an actual book, but there's a lot of hours to fill in a day.

Next week will be better!

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Barbie. 49. Hyper-tired.

I finally saw Barbie on my 49th birthday. I wrote about Barbie, so she's been in my head this whole week. And like you, I can't sleep — I'm in wired phase of fatigue, prepping for a weekend crash. It's not from chaos in my life (at the moment), it's from the hormonal chaos in my cycle.

I'm sorry about your mother-in-law. Hope she feels better soon. And hope you're able to get some much-needed rest.

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Hot. Busy. Weird.

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Slow. Hot. Struggle.

-Just another menopausal woman stumbling through life's changes

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

1) stressful, 2) anxiety provoking and self-affirming. We are moving at the end of the month or early September. The pressure is on to start purging and packing as we didnt want to have our son come home to a war zone after camp.

My son is on the Autism spectrum and needs routine. We are in that no man's land of summer where no one is around and the kid has zero plans. So he gets a little de-regulated at the end of the day. There's all the stuff to prep for the school year, plus I'm working on getting him state services.

Most importantly, I have to keep all the stakholders in both apartment deals on the right track so we can get settled for a couple of days before my son starts school on the 7th.

Also, my husband got laid off two months ago and currently has zero prospects. I have no idea how much money we will have in the bank once the sale goes through. Might only be enough for three months. Nobody died and we all have our health. I always pull through somehow. So....this too shall pass. But F*CK ME.

Expand full comment
Aug 17, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

She's Come Undone.

A three-word book title that describes my week perfectly. Did they make a movie out of that? They should have. I'm too undone to google it.

Expand full comment
author

1. Concerned 2. Multitasking 3. Walks

My dog had surgery yesterday and I picked him up today and it’s going to be a long road of healing for him. I just had an MRI for my shoulder last night which is killing me... and guess what I was so distracted I left my phone in my pocket during the MRI. 👀 It still works but is starting to lose volume and I can’t take photos 🤦‍♀️ 2. Multitasking too many jobs at the moment, and jobs within jobs :-) 3. To combat all this I’ve been walking a lot more which is meditative and relaxing. So, yay.

Expand full comment
Aug 20, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Consuming. Connection. Concession.

Visiting my parents for the week and it’s a lot. And they are aging and, as an only child, I’m a bundle of grief, gratitude, and exasperation. (Wait... That’s my 3 words) They are lovely in many ways and quite impressive with their with-it-ness and make me crazy too.

And all my mother’s activity plans were dashed by my father’s positive Covid yesterday. So now we’re having a 2020 moment where we stay home and make our own fun.

Movie title would be You Can Go Home Again ... but you’re sleeping on the couch

Expand full comment