11 Comments
Oct 5, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

I was actually thinking about this yesterday…. In college there was a talent show or something at our large dorm complex. My guy friend formed a band and I was going to sing Blondie’s Dreaming which was well within my range. For some reason the drummer didn’t want to do that song and it switched to Par Benetar’s Hit Me With Your Best Shot which was not. Once on stage I had all the charisma of a paper bag and I was so nervous. Then at a critical note my voice cracked. After the song I slunk off stage, red as a beet. Later I heard my “friends” across the hall laughing about my performance which bummed me out. Looking back now I’m proud I had the guts to get up there and do that and while I’m still cringing a little I can also laugh. As for those dorm “friends”…. Fuck ‘em! 🤣

Expand full comment

Once in Walmart after my second shift job (it was around 11pm), my husband and I were shopping for something in the home improvement aisle. I lifted my leg and directed an incredibly loud fart at the person behind me. When I turned around, to my horror, that person was not my husband. We locked eyes and he started laughing and took off running. I ran to my husband at the end of the aisle. I was so embarrassed I was crying, and I was mad at him for not taking the blame for said fart. "How could I pretend it was me?!?! You lifted your leg!" I am sure the man from the aisle still tells that story with glee about the flatulent woman in scrubs.

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

I used to live in a city with very narrow and very old streets. One day, I wanted to take a shortcut, a small side street, I always took on my way home. In the morning some workers had put up a construction fence, to repair a part of that street. It got pretty tight for around 20-30 meters and near the end one had to turn sideways, to slip through. I didn’t think about it, went along and wanted to turn, when suddenly I couldn’t. I was 8 month pregnant, with a pot belly, which I had totally forgotten about … so I had to go backwards and there were already 5 people behind me, who wanted to take the shortcut, but now had to go back too, just to let me through. It was so embarrassing, I didn’t take the shortcut ever again 😂

Expand full comment
Oct 5, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

I was onstage just after a conference presentation, getting ready to shake hands with my boss, when my half slip, the one with loose elastic I had not yet replaced, fell to the floor. I tried unsuccessfully to gracefully pull it up but ended up holding it bunched up under my skirt and sort of half waddling off stage. Not surprisingly, my memory is totally blank about what if anything my boss said about the incident. Or anyone else for that matter.

Expand full comment

Love this (and LOVE Leslie Jones)! Glad I came across your SS!

Expand full comment