31 Comments
deletedSep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

My go-to is harissa honey carrots, roasted cauliflower with Ras el Hanout, manoush (flatbread with olive oil and za'atar which I usually make from scratch but you can easily buy a flatbread and just dress it up and broil it quickly!). Sometimes, I'll make kofta meatballs or kebobs to go along, but only if I have time and feel like adding meat to the meal. I'm 100% happy without it, too. I also love to make harissa mushrooms! {I'm eating some version of this every week}

Expand full comment

My go-to meal usually involves a roasted sweet potato topped with chili garlic crunch, that addictive concoction from Trader Joe’s. Along with that, I often roast broccoli or whatever veggies are in the fridge and add microwaveable brown rice to the mix.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

I'm impressed!! ^^ I'm more of a cheese and crackers, Amy's burrito, or bowl of cereal person. After 20 years of cooking for my kids, I'm as lazy about cooking as they come!

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Cheese and crackers. The end.

😂

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Cereal. And milk (for calcium). That's all folks!😅

Expand full comment

Baguette, oil, balsamic. Cheese probably. Chocolate. Mmmmm.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

My household generally doesn’t do big dinners. So Popcorn and banana ice cream from the vitamin. At least once a week.

Expand full comment

Fast and easy: I cut 4 skinny rectangles of firm tofu and 2 skinny rectangles of plant-based “garlic and herb” Mykonos cheese in an almond flour tortilla (Siete brand is the best, from refrigerated case at Whole Foods), roll it up, and toast it in a pan greased with a little olive oil. (Can serve with chopped kale tossed in tahini and olive oil, but let’s be honest—if you’re over 50, you don’t need a full dinner because you now have sluggish digestion and are likely gaining literally a pound a day.)

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Hummus/guac/tzaziki with baby carrots or pretzel slims. Popcorn. If all else is lost: a frozen dinner with a separate bag of microwaved steamed veggies mixed in and maybe extra pasta sauce.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Once again the Tik Tokkers steal our trends haha! My girl dinner is usually cheese, crackers, cherry tomatoes, maybe an avocado. Sometimes I just eat ramen zhuzhed up with an egg, corn, seaweed, etc. Definitely some sort of cookie for dessert.

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Fruit, cheese, bread, wine. No need to reinvent the wheel. :)

Expand full comment
Sep 7, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Grilled cheese sandwich and tomato soup from a can. Not the healthiest but definitely comfort food!

Expand full comment

In the summer, it's corn on the cob and tomato and mayo sandwich. Other seasons it's bread, cheese, maybe hummus. In all seasons, wine.

Expand full comment

I buy an organic roasted chicken each week from Whole Foods (and mock the "organicness" of the sparkly green elastic band used to truss it). That becomes lunches and/or dinners (the bones are brothed along with some chicken feet...it's the witchiest recipe). It's edible cold or reheated. Sometimes, I'll add it to frozen cauliflower rice and mixed veg with some coconut aminos (like a combo of soy and teriyaki sauces) and mimic a stir fry ('cept it's steamed). I'll roast a veg (broccoli or cauliflower, bagged, pre-cut) and/or a potato (yam, Japanese sweet or Yukon gold)...425 for 30 mins, and avocado oil will change your life. I use my toaster oven for that, so I can walk away and do other stuff; it'll ding when it's done and turn itself off. I am a boring creature of habit. I don't want to have to overthink what I'm going to wear or what I'm going to eat. Perhaps this "girl dinner" thing is a food version of a uniform/capsule wardrobe? xo

Expand full comment

For me my favorite go-to-girl dinner (also sometimes quick lunch) is a rolled-up lebanese bread (or good tortilla), filled with two slices of cheese, a generous scoop of cole slaw and home made kimchi: spicy from the kimchi, creamy from the cole slaw and filling from the cheese. Healthy and easy to make, what more could I ever want... 😆 I love it

Expand full comment

Zabars = girl dinner, lol. But now that I'm on the west coast for a project, I've been making due with Trader Joe's vegan tzatziki, smoked salmon/gravlax, cherry tomatoes, the pre-sliced, extra-lazy fresh Jícama sticks, pre-washed snap peas, and those fancy rosemary fig crackers to pretend I like fiber! At the end, I'll polish it off w/ some chocolate Oatly ice cream and declare myself righteously healthy--probably mostly a lie. Ha. I also love cereal for dinner, but don't tell my kids. 😂

Expand full comment

Cheese, crackers, olives, cut up veggies and hummus.

Expand full comment

Been doing this forever but I call it a snacky plate, and it involves zero cooking. Baguette or naan, manchego and gouda goat cheese, frescatrano olives, fig jam, hummus, vegis, mixed nuts, roasted red bell peppers from a jar, red grapes, berries.😋

Expand full comment