30 Comments
deletedFeb 9, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
Feb 9, 2023·edited Feb 9, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson

All of that !!!! And “ladies” to a group of “women” that may not all identify as women or not also makes me nuts.

Expand full comment
Feb 9, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson

"It is what it is". Usually this is a copout for not dealing with a specific incident, or trying to imagine solutions. There isn't a replacement phrase, but a different way to address someone who uses this. "What can we do to fix that?" etc. Response depends on the size of the problem.

Expand full comment
Feb 9, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson

I'm not fond of the phrase de jour, no matter what it is: "I know, right?" or the one I hear all the time now, when someone agrees with me, "One-hundred percent!" or "At the end of the day, ... ." These are all lazy ways of expressing attitudes, short-hand, if you will. But it begins to feel trite and thoughtless. Solution? Try not to speak in cliche, or write in it either.

Expand full comment
Feb 9, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson

“Gender reveal party”. I don’t have a suggestion for a better term. How about we just stop having them?

Expand full comment
Feb 9, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson

I don’t know why, because I know it’s well-intended and also good advice, but I see red when someone tells me, “breathe.” Lady, that is the one thing I’ve not forgotten to do. Tell me something I can use.

Expand full comment
Feb 9, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson

“Everyone tries to do their best”. No, actually they don’t. There are a few that do, but certainly does not apply to “everyone”.

Expand full comment
Feb 9, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson

Not as spoken in conversation but in written articles: 'iconic' and 'cult'. Most times, the item in question is neither! Not everything is iconic! And Biologique Recherche's P50 (for example) is no longer cult because so many articles have been written about it, and so many celebs have mentioned it. You can buy it online!

Find other words! I have no suggestions beyond: famous/infamous, old school, 'Hollywood History', for iconic and celeb/beauty editor favorite, IYKYK, for cult.

Expand full comment
Feb 9, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson

"Coeds" as a noun referring to female but not male college students.

Expand full comment
Feb 10, 2023Liked by TueNight, Liz Thompson

My kids hate "take a deep breath" because they do the exact opposite when we say it! I get annoyed with "There's nothing we can do. We just have to live with it."

Expand full comment
Feb 10, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Overuse of "just," as in "I just wanted to ask," etc.

Also, I live in the Bible Belt and "god won't give you anything you can't handle" and phrases like it create in me a visceral reaction that borders on violence...

Expand full comment
Feb 10, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

I strongly dislike being called a girl in any professional setting. And, if one more person says, "it is what it is" to me, well, I'm going to have to turn and walk away.

Expand full comment