46 Comments
deletedJun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson
Comment deleted
Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Probably "St. Elmo's Fire" from the 80's. If I find it's on I have to watch it. LOL my husband calls Starship Troopers "Horny Teenagers Kill Bugs"!! I have not seen that one myself.

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Rocky Horror Picture Show has been pretty consistent with me.

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Kelly’s Heroes. Although it may not qualify as “bad.” More like kitschy.

Expand full comment
author

My dear friend Shelly has made this a lifetime pursuit.

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Mommie Dearest-No wire hangers! Overacting at its best. Also Logans Run and Soylent Green rank right up there!

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I do love a terrible dancing movie! These are mostly 2000s nonsense, but stuff like: Center Stage, Save the Last Dance, Coyote Ugly

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Ok, ok, I'll fess up. The 'Twilight' movies. Whenever they are streaming for Amazon Prime members, I'll watch and they are currently streaming on Hulu.

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Rocky Horror, Eating Raul and Point Break.

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

OH, and Roadhouse! I see a Patrick Swayze and Nick Cage theme emerging here....

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I love Starship Troopers but my ultimate favorite "bad" movie is Big Trouble in Little China. I will never not watch it when it's on.

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Ok, I confess... Murder She Wrote is a guaranteed soporific when I can no longer solve my life's problems. There's just something about her lilting voice, the clackety typewriter, and her chicken-esque hairdo that's like Xanax for my 80s soul.

Expand full comment
Jun 15, 2023·edited Jun 15, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

When I was a kid I watched Love Boat pretty religiously. Looking back on it now it was problematic in so many ways (doc hitting on patients, Isaac and Gopher undressing every woman with their eyes) and it was also pretty uncool to be watching that on a Saturday night instead of going out. And yet I was hooked. Flash forward and I still loves me a good trashy TV show. Oh yeah, what housewives franchise do you want to talk about?. I’ve got all day. But the absolute WORST tv show I couldn’t stop watching recently was Sex/Life. It’s so unbelievably bad and silly and trashy and gratuitous and I just wanted more. Even my daughter squealed when she saw there was a season 2 (it’s in the genes). If you haven’t seen it I really recommend that you do, if only for the vision of a rather large male member. When I found out the lead couple were a couple in real life too it made it all the more juicy. I won’t give anything away but you’ll scream at the TV and hate yourself for watching but you’ll be back for more! 🤣

Expand full comment
author

Sgt Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band starring The Bee Gees. It’s terrible in every respect but I love the weird takes on Beatles songs

Expand full comment

Giant and Cleopatra (they are like 3-4 hours, so you can take a nap and everything), Tommy Boy, Constantine, Roadhouse, The Replacements, Mommie Dearest, The House of Yes and Home for the Holidays. And, of course, Dateline. That, right there, is a cheese factory. xo

Expand full comment

The Apple (1980). I liken it to Xanadu on acid. Here's a line from its Wikipedia page, "The movie garnered a largely negative audience at the festival, some watchers throwing the vinyl records at the screen." And yet I own this wreck, so I can watch it whenever I need deep belly laughs. Oh, and the song "Speed" is pretty catchy: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LVKODpCrCpw

Expand full comment

I confess that I cannot pass by 40 Year Old Virgin any time I see it on. It makes me laugh every time.

Expand full comment