33 Comments
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I was just writing about this! A few years ago I learned more about the Romani and stopped using the word gypsy to describe my life.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Grown ass. Sounds like high school

Expand full comment
author

I’ve gotten better with not using “hey guys” - opt for “folks” or “all” or “everybody”

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I'd be very happy to never see or hear "said nobody ever" or "I was today years old" again

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I nominate “pull the trigger” for making a decision, especially when applied to shopping. Let’s not “pull the trigger” on a new shirt.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Get rid of "killing two birds with one stone"! So awful!

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

"Sorry, not sorry." and saying "You're welcome," congratulating yourself before anyone has said, thank you.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I am guilty of loving some of the old timey expressions even if they're really pretty awful (killing two birds, more than one way to skin a cat, etc). But I bristle with anger every single time I say thank you and receive "no problem" in reply. Yes, I think it's safe to assume that it's no ACTUAL problem for you to ring up my coffee. 😡

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Our language is full of animus towards animals and I only really noticed recently. Now I can't unsee (unhear?) it and am appalled. Beating a dead horse. More than one way to skin a cat. Kill two birds with one stone. Can't swing a dead cat without ... They still fall out of my mouth (ugly habit), but I'm committed to carving them out of my lexicon. Humans are so weird.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Recently brought to my attention- don’t play Hangman. Play Snowman instead.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

How about 'cult product' for cosmetics that are not really under the radar, just maybe not available at Macy's. Or 'iconic' for people or things that are popular but not yet memorable in a long-time way.

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023·edited May 11, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

I still hear grown-ass* ADULTS use the word "retarded" to mean stupid. Do not do that. Just don't.

*I saw someone objected to this phrase, but I think it's particularly descriptive, even if my mother wouldn't approve. ;)

Expand full comment
May 11, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler

This is more of a general complaint about writing style than a specific phrase but I really hate the headlines that Slate uses. They all seem to subscribe to the school of declarative phrase, BUT ACTUALLY said declarative phrase SUCKS writing and I find it so irritating. Highly specific beef I do understand.

Expand full comment

I’m a huge fan of classic WarnerBros cartoons and used to frequently say “what a maroooon” when describing someone who annoyed me. One day I thought “oh man I bet that’s actually really racist” and long story short, yup. Be suspicious of any classic WarnerBros quotes!

Expand full comment

“What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.”

Expand full comment

I like this thread. One topic - inclusivity. Love it. Another topic I'm hearing equally throughout: we're adults and get to drop the silly slang phrases that never were that great to begin with.

Expand full comment

Chinese menu. Why can't you just say menu or list ::eye roll::

Expand full comment