21 Comments
Sep 21, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

I do vacillate wildly between ugh, I look so old these days and you’re not so bad for an “old” gal! And then I look at Madonna’s IG and with all the work and fillers and whatnot she’s done to her face, I ask myself why does she still need such heavy filters then? But, I’m trying to avoid the self criticism and embrace the fact that I’m still kicking at 57, a privilege denied to many.

Expand full comment
Sep 21, 2023·edited Sep 21, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

Beauty now for me is a clean face, low to no make-up, but I still rock a hundred different earrings and lipstick. Beauty is as heathy as I can be, and when I can’t, I’ll rock that, too. Beauty is creating: words, thoughts, smiles, good smells in the kitchen. Beauty now is awe, at a sunrise, an old tree, a storm. Beauty is love, for this old girl and others. Beauty is gratitude for another day waking. Beauty is breathing.

Expand full comment
Sep 21, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

I don't feel 'done' without mascara, eyeliner and lip gloss. I may be unshowered and running errands in leggings and a t shirt, but my eyes look wide awake, lol. I pretty much gave up lipstick for glosses and stains pre Covid (and of course, only wore lip balm while masking). Gloss is easier, breezier, juicier. I'm also someone with very oily and breakout prone skin, still, at 58, so I'm about skin care and occasionally using the same face wash as my 20 year old son!

Beauty to me is the cheap thrill of K Beauty and giving up the prestige skin care lines in the department store. It's bypassing Botox... for now. It's messier, frizzier hair because I can't be bothered to blow dry it (gave it up during lockdown). It's always getting a pedicure, even in the winter, but only occasionally getting a manicure. It's more casual.

Expand full comment
Sep 21, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Thinking about this so much after watching The Super Models yesterday. Physical beauty is compelling but power is bigger than that. Elders gain more than they lose I think. That being said, I’d still like to see less droop around the jowls. Which hilariously autocorrected to “bowels” and I don’t want those to droop either! I guess aging is finding the humor and beauty in inevitable indignities.

Expand full comment
Sep 21, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

I started in fashion in Manhattan in the 70's. The models were all about extreme hair and makeup and that is what I thought beauty was. Now the models I work with are real women. Natural hair and makeup. A few months ago, I discovered Natalie in Best Buy. I only saw her from the back with her salt and pepper dreads cascading all around her.

Yada, yada, yada....she came to our studio for a photo shoot and was a natural in front of the camera. The confidence of age. Knowing who she was. Natalie is an art director for Yes! Magazine with a lifelong dream to be in a commercial. We are working together to make her dream a reality. It’s never too late. This is how I define beauty today. Photo link to Natalie. file:///Users/robin/Desktop/INSTAGRAM%20GETTY/23-06-12_Natalie-0523.jpg

Expand full comment

I see myself on Zoom and wish I knew how to do something with my eyes, at least. I never got in the habit of using makeup at all, so when/if I do, I'm not used to it and I feel like a freak! I'm about to assistant-teach a writing class to women for whom I'd like to look halfway professional, so I need to figure something out. Maybe ... light foundation, eyebrows, and mascara? What's the least I can do to look like I didn't just roll out of bed? I'm 59 and never learned a lot of the feminine style skills.

Expand full comment

As I close in on 50 I own the power of my face a lot more than I used to. My features are quite large, and I now realize that their smallest ripple makes a big impact, so I've learned to utilize that strategically. When I'm looking to persuade someone who is on the fence about something, my "enthusiasm face" can usually get them over the line. When I'm upset about something I have to be careful not to glower, unless its called for, or it will affect the entire room. When I'm happy to see someone my arsenal of dimples (somehow there are more every year!) make them feel seen and loved. Other than that it's just mascara, brows, lip balm, suncreen and retinol. Oh, and my "miracle product" that I've been using for almost 20 years is the green Garnier eye-roller you can get at the drug store. That thing depuffs my eyes better than anything else on earth.

Expand full comment

I can't say that I'm a fan of the slight jowling that's beginning to occur. And, if I had the money, I would get my eyelids circumcized. There are Nora Ephron moments of feeling bad about my neck. But that's more about me not recognizing me than, "Oh, gawd! What will the world think?!" There's a rub as in how my appearance is changing and how I feel (like I'm in my 30s, LOL). But I quit foundation years ago (is there one that doesn't suck?), slap on a cream blush and mascara for work or dinners. I've gone French-woman easy with my hair (I blowdry my bangs and that's it; the rest is up to whatever mood my wave/curl is in). And, lordy, I miss those 5-7-9 stores! Why can't we have anything good? xo

Expand full comment
Sep 22, 2023·edited Sep 22, 2023Liked by Liz Thompson

My idea of beauty is more innate these days. I love feeling wise... remembering that I know so much more than I've ever known before. Externally, feeling attractive shifts between a wild mane of curly air-dried hair and a long, comfy sweater dress or a Grace Kelly old-school dress. I think I'd rather see strength and compassion normalized as true beauty... that's seems to be what matters :)

Expand full comment