19 Comments
Jun 7, 2023·edited Jun 7, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I find when something becomes popular (ie cropped or shorter shirts) it’s all I can find! I see a cute top in a store and realize it barely makes it to it my Belly Button. No thanks. I wish new clothing was offered in a variety of styles rather than all in on what’s hot at the moment! This is why I love thrift shopping!

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Low rise is creeping back! I won’t participate this time. Maybe they were always a trend-followers game. Happily those days are (mostly) behind me 😊

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

Was I about to commit a crime of fashion?

When I told a neighbor I will be wearing a black matte jersey dress to a June wedding this weekend, she was horrified.

What I didn’t tell her is that the dress is an early 1990’s mini which will be accessorized with black over the knee boots, opera gloves and a simple silver Tiffany necklace. In a 1994 interview the designer, Victor Alfaro, stated his clothes are not defined by age. At 71, I was about to find out.

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

I'll go on record saying that I have always been sad that legwarmers didn't make the comeback they deserved. So maybe that's my fashion fail? I have a post about this in two weeks, believing that every trend has been done at least once so they are all dead; let's just dress how we want. If you see me in legwarmers, don't judge. As far as the abyss goes: Acid wash (sorry!), low-rise, neon, double-knit polyester (IYKYK), wearing brand names boldly (who wants to be a walking sandwich board?), too-short dresses and Daisy Dukes. I really don't want to be anyone's GYN. xo

Expand full comment
Jun 7, 2023·edited Jun 7, 2023Liked by Margit Detweiler, Liz Thompson

On the comeback side - the only piece of 80s/90s clothing I held onto is my Express jean jacket. I would love to wear it again. I used to hide a 2 liter of Mtn Dew in its inside pockets, so I know it would be perfect for carting around a bottle of wine on the sly.

On the abyss side - can we NOT with the mullets? My 15 y/o is dying to get one, just like all his friends. For the love of my achy-breaky heart, just say no!

Expand full comment